Tuesday, June 19, 2012

E-Book Details:

Embedded systems building blocks: complete and ready-to-use modules in C
Focal Press
Jean J. Labrosse
2nd, illustrated 2000
Book Description:
This second edition features revisions that support the latest version of the author's popular operating system and book, MicroC/OS-II - Complete and ready-to-use modules in C Get a clear explanation of functional code modules and microcontroller theory
                                  You get hands-on experience with real-time system modules provided by the author and functional code modules that may be used to create basic embedded system functions. This second edition features a new chapter on PC services and uses the updated MicroC/OS-II.

Jean J Labrosse has contributed to Embedded Systems Building Blocks[ With] as an author. Labrosse has a Master's degree in electrical engineering and has been designing embedded systems for many years. Labrosse is a regular lecturer at the Embedded Systems Conferences, and he is a member of the Advisory Board for the Conference.
Table of Contents:
Unit - I
Embedded Computing : Introduction, Complex Systems and Microprocessor, The Embedded System Design Process, Formalisms for System Design, Design Examples. (Chapter I from Text Book 1, Wolf).
Unit - II
The 8051 Architecture : Introduction, 8051 Micro controller Hardware, Input/Output Ports and Circuits, External Memory, Counter and Timers, Serial data Input/Output, Interrupts. (Chapter 3 from Text Book2, Ayala).
Unit - III
Basic Assembly Language Programming Concepts : The Assembly Language Programming Process,
Programming Tools and Techniques, Programming the 8051. Data Transfer and Logical Instructions.(Chapters 4,5 and 6 from Text Book 2, Ayala).
Unit - IV
Arithmetic Operations, Decimal Arithmetic. Jump and Call Instructions, Further Details on Interrupts.(Chapter 7and 8 from Text Book 2, Ayala)
Unit - V
Applications : Interfacing with Keyboards, Displays, D/A and A/D Conversions, Multiple Interrupts, Serial Data Communication. (Chapter 10 and 11 from Text Book 2, Ayala).
Unit - VI
Introduction to Real – Time Operating Systems : Tasks and Task States, Tasks and Data,
Semaphores, and Shared Data; Message Queues, Mailboxes and Pipes, Timer Functions, Events,
Memory Management,Interrupt Routines in an RTOS Environment. (Chapter 6 and 7 from Text Book 3, Simon).
Unit - VII
Basic Design Using a Real-Time Operating System : Principles, Semaphores and Queues, Hard Real-Time Scheduling Considerations, Saving Memory and Power, An example RTOS like uC-OS (OpenSource); Embedded Software Development Tools: Host and Target machines, Linker/Locators for Embedded Software, Getting Embedded Software into the Target System; Debugging Techniques: Testing on Host Machine, Using Laboratory Tools, An Example System. (Chapter 8,9,10 & 11 from TextBook 3, Simon).
Unit - VIII
Introduction to advanced architectures : ARM and SHARC, Processor and memory organization and Instruction level parallelism; Networked embedded systems: Bus protocols, I2C bus and CAN bus;Internet-Enabled Systems, Design Example-Elevator Controller. (Chapter 8 from Text Book 1, Wolf).


Post a Comment